Stop sign tickets are one of the most common types of traffic violations in California. There is a 3-second stop rule (stop, count to 3, look at all intersecting points for pedestrians/bicyclists/drivers) that must be applied by a driver in order to comply with VC 24250: Stop Requirements. There are a handful of drivers that have felt their stop at a stop sign was sufficient enough but received a traffic ticket for not completely stopping at a stop sign, and/or rolled the stop sign. We have worked with many of these happy clients!
Stop sign, rolling stop, or the infamous “California Roll” all fall under VC 22450. This includes failure to stop at a stop sign and failure to stop at the marked limit line. If you’re searching for any of the following then you are in the right place.
The cost of fines for running a stop sign in California starts out at $238.00. The fine for the ticket will vary depending on several factors including the county that you were driving in during the time of your alleged offense, the number of past guilty stop sign ticket(s) / guilty moving violation(s) on your record, the length of time since your last traffic citation, etc.
This is how much you can expect to pay for a stop sign ticket in California.
You may have heard that the base fine for a failure to stop ticket is $35 and technically that is correct. However the fine amount rises when the additional fees and assessments are calculated into the total fine.
*All estimates include base fine, mandatory 20% California surcharge, and penalty fees and assessments.
Yes, failure to stop at a stop sign will result in a point added to your driving record. Once you have a point on your driving record, it will remain on your record for 3 years. If you want to keep the point off your record, contact us!
Yes, a stop sign ticket will raise your insurance premium. This is why it is important to contest your ticket as a guilty moving violation results in 1 point gained towards your driver’s record. There is an estimated 10-15% increase to your monthly insurance premium for the next 3 years! However, you have the ability to avoid paying the $238 fine as well as keeping the point of your record to relieve the insurance premium increase if you contest the ticket.
With the average monthly car insurance payment in California being $116, you will pay $1,714.00 for a stop sign ticket over the next 3 years! You can contest this ticket with our 100% Money Back Guarantee (less $20 administrative fee). That’s right, if we don’t dismiss your case then you still get MONEY BACK.
*The above figures are estimates based on consumer data and are provided as general information. Individual payments will vary.
Under normal circumstances, drivers can attend traffic school for stop sign tickets. Only 1 offense can be masked every eighteen months on your record. This means that if you have had a citation within the past eighteen months, traffic school will not remove the point from your driving record resulting in vehicle insurance premiums to increase.
1 point offenses remain on your record for 3 years! (The increased vehicle insurance premiums will likely exceed the cost of the ticket).
Legally, the law states that you must come to a complete stop and may proceed as long as there is no hazard present. However, we recommend the 3-second stop rule (stop, count to 3, look at all intersecting points for pedestrians/bicyclists/drivers) mentioned earlier as that is deemed the safest method. If you have been cited for running a stop sign then please don’t hesitate to contact us!
Tell us the details about your alleged infraction, and we’ll prepare all the defense documents for the Trial by Declaration for you. All you have to do is sign & send in these defense documents along with the required post bail before the listed due date.
Serving the entire state of California including these popular jurisdictions