Crossing a divided highway can lead to steep tickets and in severe cases, jail time. California vehicle code 21651 is a common offense that many have been ticketed for in the past. We’ve helped many happy customers beat their divided highway ticket without even appearing in court.
How, you say? iTicket Fight handles the hard part for you. We guarantee the dismissal of your divided highway ticket, or your money back [less $20 administrative fee].
A divided highway is a roadway divided by a barrier in the middle of where traffic travels in opposite directions on both sides. In California, divided highways are separated by an unused space that is at least 2 feet wide. They can be separated by yellow lines, unpaved road, a median strip, and/or intermittent barriers.
As of 2017, the estimated minimum fine for a divided highway ticket (VC 21651) is $238.00 in California. Depending on the circumstances of the offense, the fine amount for a divided highway ticket can vary. If you are found guilty of 21651b or 21651c, the fines may be significantly higher and will likely increase your insurance premiums.
*All estimates include base fine, mandatory 20% California surcharge, and penalty fees and assessments.
Penalty: Moving Violation.
What: Driving a vehicle on the wrong side of an intermittent barrier or divided section which separates two or more opposing lanes of traffic.
Penalty: Misdemeanor unless provisioned under 21651c
What: Willful violation of 21651b (driving on the wrong side of a divided highway) which results in injury to, or death of a person.
Penalty: Punishable by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 of the Penal Code or imprisonment in a county jail for up to 6 months.
The punishment for a violation of CVC 21651 varies depending on the type of violation. Punishment for crossing the lines of a divided highway can be a simple moving violation, while driving on the wrong side of a divided highway is a misdemeanor. In severe cases, willfully driving on the wrong side of a highway with a resulting injury to or death of a person is punishable by imprisonment under subdivision (h) of Section 1170 of the Penal Code or up to 6 months in the county jail.
Punishment for variations of cvc 21651 is as follows:
Simply tell us the details about your alleged infraction, and we’ll prepare all the defense documents for the Trial by Declaration for you. All you have to do is sign & send in these defense documents along with the required post bail before the listed due date.
Serving the entire state of California including these popular jurisdictions